Are You Scared?

A few weeks ago I posted “New Beginnings” where I was looking for a new career move, and reflecting on post-uni life. It was all going well, but I was finishing my internship without a new job. Now, all of that has changed. The question I am faced with is “are you scared?”

FullSizeRender

Would you take your dream job if you had to travel across the country for it? This was the question I faced when I applied for my dream job at the other end of the country. My mind twinged with excitement which was closely followed by nerves.

I have always lived in the North. Yes, I had moved around a bit and went to a different city for University, but living in the South was not something I never thought would happen.

Sitting back in reflection, I realised that my only reservation about taking the job was answering “yes” to the question “Are you scared?”

Being afraid is not a reason to say no to something. Dream job? Say yes, and figure the rest out later. The “rest” for me is the cross-country move.

FullSizeRender-1

New adventures will not always be so easy and possible. Responsibilities take a hold of life, and adventures become few and far between. The voice inside says, “adventure whilst you can, and look back at these memories fondly.”

When I was 18, I briefly moved to Italy in pursuit of a career. Whilst I didn’t stay in Italy, the experience was unforgettable. To this day I talk about the time I made friends with a middle aged French Opera singer at a bus stop. I fondly remember being taught naughty Dutch phrases by girls I met from Holland, whilst enjoying some free champagne.

IMG_2884

Moving across the country should be easy compared to moving to another country. My sense of adventure hasn’t disappeared just yet.

FullSizeRender-2

So, I said yes to adventure. This means I will soon be experiencing a different city with a new way of life. Although it is far away from everything I know, it is an opportunity to carve my own path. Plus, I have worked hard to be qualified enough for my dream job. This is my chance to take it. Although fear occasionally creeps up, excitement takes over.

Would you like to see posts about moving house, moving cities and adjusting to a new job? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑